Minister McEntee congratulates the five Fine Gael MEPs on their election to the European Parliament

6th June 2019 - Helen Mc Entee

Minister for European Affairs, Helen McEntee, has congratulated all five Fine Gael MEPs on being elected to the next European Parliament.


“Deirdre Clune was elected in the 5th seat in Ireland South yesterday and will join the strong Fine Gael team in Europe when the UK leaves the EU.


“She will join Mairead McGuinness; Sean Kelly; Frances Fitzgerald and Maria Walsh as part of our team in the European People’s Party (EPP) family.


“Fine Gael has won 5 out the 13 seats available to Ireland in this year’s European Elections, making it the party’s most successful European Election since 1984.


“We have a fantastic mix of youth and experience in our European Team. With this high level of representation in the largest political grouping in the EU, I expect our Fine Gael team to continue punching above its weight and bringing Irish issues to the fore of European debate.


“I also want to extend my congratulations to Mairead McGuinness who has been elected as Vice-Chair of the EPP group in Brussels today.


“This already demonstrates the influence Ireland has as a small member state within the EPP.”


Minister McEntee concluded by saying: “Fine Gael is the party of Europe and we will continue to pursue and promote a positive EU agenda for the next five years.


“I, as Minister for European Affairs, want to take the time to congratulate all Irish MEPs on their election and I look forward to working with all of those who will represent Ireland in the European Parliament.”



Stay Up To Date With Fine Gael