Skip to main content

Tánaiste and Fine Gael Leader Leo Varadkar announces party spokespeople

30th September 2020 - Aisling Scally

Fine Gael Leader, Leo Varadkar, has appointed the following TDs to positions of responsibility in the party:

Colm Burke – Spokesperson on Health
Ciaran Cannon – Spokesperson on Media, Arts & Culture
Jennifer Carroll-MacNeil – Spokesperson on Equality (in addition to her role as Deputy Chair of the Parliamentary Party)
Alan Dillon – Spokesperson on Tourism & Sport (in addition to his role as Secretary of the Parliamentary Party)
Alan Farrell – Spokesperson on Climate Action
Emer Higgins – Spokesperson on Social Media & Fintech (in addition to her role as Assistant Secretary of the Parliamentary Party)
Neale Richmond – Spokesperson on European Affairs

In addition to these, Michael Creed will be a delegate to the Organisation on Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) and Joe McHugh will be Chairman of the joint committee of Oireachtas Committee chairpersons. Senator Sean Kyne has been appointed as a member of the Oireachtas Commission.
An Tánaiste, Leo Varadkar said: “I believe that Fine Gael should have a full range of spokespeople covering all policy areas including those in which we do not have a minister. Their role will be to support the Government, develop policy, speak in the Dáil and media and engage with interest groups in these areas on behalf of the party.

“In most cases, they will be the lead Fine Gael member and convenor on the relevant Joint Oireachtas Committee. Fine Gael is fortunate to have a strong team of parliamentarians. I know each of them will make a strong contribution.”

The appointments stand until December 2022.

Stay Up To Date With Fine Gael