Tánaiste and Fine Gael President Leo Varadkar announces Seanad Spokespersons

10th July 2020 - Leo Varadkar, TD

Tánaiste and Fine Gael President Leo Varadkar has today announced the Seanad Spokespersons for the party.

“Fine Gael has a very strong mix of new and experienced Senators. Each one of them has a vital role to play in helping to implement the Programme for Government, and in helping to rebuild our economy and renew our society during and after the Covid-19 emergency. The appointments will run until December 2022 at which point there will be a reshuffle.

“These will be demanding roles, and there will be many difficult times ahead, but I know that Fine Gael’s Senators have already embraced this challenge. Congratulations to our Senators and I wish you all well in your new positions.”

Fine Gael Seanad Spokespersons


Regina Doherty

Leas Cathaoirleach & Transport

Jerry Buttimer

Employment Affairs, Work/Life Balance & Northern Ireland

Emer Currie


Michael D’Arcy

Education, Science & Innovation (including Higher Education)

Aisling Dolan

Enterprise & Trade

Garret Ahearn

Children, Disability, Equality, Integration & Privacy Rights

Mary Seery-Kearney

Whip, Public Expenditure & Reform and Gaeltacht

Sean Kyne

Housing, Heritage & Local Government

John Cummins


Barry Ward

Agriculture, Food, Forestry & Marine

Tim Lombard

Media, Arts, Sports & Tourism

Micheál Carrigy

Climate, Communications, Energy & Natural Resources

John McGahon

Social Protection, Rural & Community Development & The Islands

Paddy Burke


Martin Conway

Foreign & European Affairs, Defence & Brexit

Joe O’Reilly

Stay Up To Date With Fine Gael