Senator Mary Seery-Kearney

Constituency: Dublin South Central

Seanad Spokesperson on Children, Disability, Equality, Integration & Privacy Rights

Senator Mary Seery-Kearney

Mary was appointed as a Senator on 27 June, 2020.

She was elected elected to South Dublin County Council by the people of the Rathfarnham Templeogue Local Electoral Area in 2019.  Prior to her election she stated her belief that a local councillor should be a friend and advocate for the community and it’s people both within local Government, and outside of it.

In addition to my day to day Council work, I have the honour of Chairing the Rathfarnham, Templeogue, Firhouse and Bohernabreena Area Committee, and I serve on the following committees on behalf of our community:

  • Economic Development, Enterprise and Tourism Special Policy Committee: Member
  • Dublin 12 Drugs Task Force: Member
  • Joint Policing Committee: Vice Chair
  • Dublin Bus Forum: Member
  • €300,000 Have Your Say: Member

Mary grew up in Templeogue and now lives in this community with her husband and daughter, and is delighted to have the opportunity to represent it and advocate for the Residents.

As a practising barrister, educator and local business woman, she has experience in the provision of supported housing as a former Chief Executive of a housing association, she is an active community volunteer having founded outreach services in the community, Christmas Grocery Hampers, Soup Run, has volunteered with FLAC, and currently volunteers working with families to restructure their finances, stay in their homes, negotiating the restoration of tracker mortgages and advocating for compensation.

Mary has been active in Fine Gael all of her adult life, supporting our TDs and local representatives, serving on Branch and Constituency Committees. She is a former FG Parliamentary Advisor and has written a number of submissions on behalf of FG TDs participating in the Constitutional Convention.

She is passionately committed to ensuring that the needs of the Rathfarnham, Templeogue, Knocklyon, Perrystown, Greenhills, Ballyroan and Ballyboden, communities are strongly represented at South Dublin County Council, pursuing a just distribution of investment and services for our local community.

If you or anyone in your family have any issues that she can assist with, please do not hesitate to contact her.

Connect With Mary

Contact Details

26 Templeville Road
Dublin 6W. D6W RX57.